Live Blog: Thursday’s city council meeting (Jan. 12)

(L-R): Mark Smith, Linda Harvell, William Wright, John Nichols (mayor), Dennis Maloney, Elizabeth Cunha, and Bob Yancy.

By Colin Killian, Public Communications Director

Welcome to our live blog from the College Station City Council‘s meeting on Thursday, Jan. 12. It’s not the official minutes.

The meeting starts after 6 p.m. and is streamed live on Suddenlink Channel 19 and To join online, go to Zoom or call 888-475-4499 and enter webinar number 967 2839 3278. If the call-in number isn’t working, access will be limited to Zoom.

6:12 p.m.

The meeting has started. The council took no action after its executive session.

6:20 p.m.

Hear Visitors

Three people spoke during Hear Visitors, when citizens may address the council on any item that does not appear on the posted agenda.

6:50 p.m.

CDBC Fund Process

The council discussed a new process for allocating federal Community Development Block Grant funds to non-profit programs benefiting low and moderate-income residents. The City of Bryan recently discontinued participation in the Joint Relief Funding Review Committee.

7:07 p.m.

88th Texas Legislature

The discussed expectations for the 88th session of the Texas Legislature, including proposed bills that could impact local governments and ways the city can participate in the process.

7:44 p.m.

2023 Legislative Program

The council voted 6-1 to approve the city’s legislative program for the upcoming session of the Texas Legislature. The program focuses on maintaining local control, protecting water rights, pushing for electrical grid improvements, and expanding resources for infrastructure improvements. Councilman Bob Yancy voted against the motion.

The program directs the city manager and staff to support or oppose issues likely to arise during the session and communicate those stances to legislators.

7:55 p.m.

Consent Agenda

The council voted unanimously to approve the entire consent agenda:

• A three-year enterprise agreement for $302,915.64 per year with SHI for Microsoft software licenses.
• The FY 23 BVWACS budget.
• A $74,426 change order to the utility billing software master services agreement with Origin Utility.
• A $274,800 HOME Investment Partnership Program Community Housing Development Organization funding agreement with Elder Aid to acquire and rehabilitate a duplex at 1225- 1227 Georgia Street.
• An annual price agreement not to exceed $734,800 with Brazos Paving for cement-treated base and Type D Grade 1 cement treated (4%) recycled crushed concrete base.

8:07 p.m.

Council Member Appointments

The council voted unanimously for the following appointments of council members to various city and community boards, committees, and commissions.

External organizations:

  • Arts Council: Elizabeth Cunha
  • County Health Board: Bob Yancy
  • Community Emergency Operations Center Policy Advisory Board: John Nichols, Linda Harvell
  • Council of Governments Board of Directors: John Nichols
  • Council of Governments Intergovernmental Committee: John Nichols, Mark Smith
  • Brazos Valley Economic Development Corporation: John Nichols
  • Brazos Valley Solid Waste Management Agency Board of Directors: Mark Smith
  • Metropolitan Planning Organization: John Nichols
  • Brazos Valley Area Wide Communications System: William Wright
  • Regional Transportation Committee for Council of Governments: Bob Yancy
  • Sister Cities: Dennis Maloney
  • Spring Creek Local Government Corporation: Bob Yancy, Mark Smith

Internal committees:

  • Architectural Advisory Committee: John Nichols, Elizabeth Cunha, Linda Harvell
  • Audit Committee: John Nichols, Mark Smith
  • Budget and Finance: John Nichols, Elizabeth Cunha, Dennis Maloney
  • History Sub-Committee: Linda Harvell, William Wright, Dennis Maloney
  • Compensation and Benefits: Bob Yancy, Mark Smith, John Nichols
  • Economic Development: John Nichols, Bob Yancy, William Wright
  • Transportation and Mobility Committee: Elizabeth Cunha, Mark Smith, Linda Harvell

8:30 p.m.

Citizen Appointments

The council voted unanimously for the following new citizen appointments to the following city boards, committees, and commissions.

  • Planning and Zoning Commission: Marc Chaloupka, Aron Collins, Jason Cornelius, Dennis Christiansen (chair), David White
  • Construction Board of Adjustments: Cynthia Giedraitis, William Eide
  • Zoning Board of Adjustment: Cynthia Giedraitis, Michael Martinez. Alternates: James Hutchins, William Eide, Kevin Bishop, Trent Thomas
  • Impact Fee Advisory Committee: John Magruder, Richard Woodward
  • Parks and Recreation Board: David Scott, Scott Shafer, Kevin Bishop, David Higdon (chair)
  • Historic Preservation Committee: Gerald Burgner (chair), Louis Hodges, Ben White, Gary Halter, Lisa Mouton, Tom Turbiville, Jessica Williams

8:43 p.m.

Mayor Nichols adjourned the meeting after the council discussed its calendar, items of community interest, committee and board reports, and future agenda items.

The council meets again on Thursday, Jan. 26.

<strong><em><mark style="background-color:rgba(0, 0, 0, 0)" class="has-inline-color has-medium-gray-color">About the Blogger</mark></em></strong>
About the Blogger

Colin Killian has been with the City of College Station since 2010 after serving 23 years as the associate media relations director for the Texas A&M Athletics Department. He has also worked as a reporter and editor for the Corpus Christi Caller-Times and Lewisville News. A native of Hobbs, N.M., Killian graduated from Texas Tech with a bachelor’s degree in journalism/political science.

If you liked this post, share it!